Unpacking the Court

hpslugga

It’s time that we started discussing this topic and I want to start it off by posting two videos to kinda guide it along at least at first. I would really like to see the lawyers’ takes on it in particular. 

In some ways it works, but it does assume that a) the legislation passes and b) a Democratic administration can get all the appointments for the new spots.

We have several anti-democratic institutions, intentionally, that are not functioning as intended in the Senate, the electoral college, and the Court.  I'm pretty much untroubled by attempting to make the Court more "democratic."

I have been a lawyer for 30 years.  I alternate between cynicism toward the Court and believing, until recently, that the justices were ultimately largely independent of partisan politics (meaning, yes they are conservative and liberal, and yes, often their decisions will reflect that, but not grossly partisan, implementing agendas of their appointing party).

22 minutes ago, TwiceHorn said:

In some ways it works, but it does assume that a) the legislation passes and b) a Democratic administration can get all the appointments for the new spots.

On point a I would agree, but if they actually did that would mean Manchin and Sinema would have been convinced finally to kill the filibuster and to add more judges, so since that would almost have to be the case, point B would be moot because they’d be able to rapid fire those.