Thank you for your service. You're welcome. Vote for Biden...

RPM

4 minutes ago, RPM said:

I wear a veteran shirt, Rando walks up to me and asks if I'm a Vet. (No, I just like the way the shirt looks) I say yeah and they thank me for my service. I normally say thanks,

On a side note, it weirds me out when people thank me for my service, because I never deployed (not that Lawton, OK and El Paso aren't dangerous), and if they only knew what a lot of young soldiers stationed at Fort Bliss/El Paso are thinking about/spending their money on....

Maribeth Monroe Reaction GIF by CBS

• Haha 4
  • Fuck Around and Find Out 1

2 minutes ago, atomheartbevo said:

On a side note, it weirds me out when people thank me for my service, because I never deployed (not that Lawton, OK and El Paso aren't dangerous), and if they only knew what a lot of young soldiers stationed at Fort Bliss/El Paso are thinking about/spending their money on....

Still, whether you deployed or not and whether you fully realized it or not, you put yourself in a position where you could be placed in harm's way.  And for that, your fellow Americans should be grateful.

• Hook 'Em 3

Just now, atomheartbevo said:

I never deployed

Same here. Just got lucky with the times. I'm not a combat vet (although at the time we made fun of the other services because they were training when we weren't) I was never under enemy fire. I respect the fuck out of guys that have been.

• Hook 'Em 3

Posted (edited)
31 minutes ago, atomheartbevo said:

I spent quite a bit of time in EP when my kid was at Bliss, and I came away with the belief (which I still hold) that El Paso is a pretty nice place.   I've seen a lot of worse places for sure.   There are a shitload of worse places in Texas.  EP is top 25% of Texas for sure.   

If you'd ask him...and my Daughter-in-Law, I don't think they'd hesitate to go back there. 

The only think my kid missed in EP (he's a San Diego boy) was water.  No Oceans or lakes anywhere close.