Cooking stuff you suck at

Mo Horn

I consider myself to be a pretty good, self-taught, cook. Pretty much anything I do tastes pretty damn good, give or take a failure or two. However, I have zero artistic talent so most of my dishes aren't lookers. I love to do desserts, but could never be a pastry chef. It just doesn't come out looking all fancy. Even so, I've come to grips with that. Mrs Mo, and others, say the taste outdoes the appearance, which is fine. But the thing that pisses me of the most is that I cannot boil eggs and have them peel cleanly. I've watched every video, read every technique, tried every method, but every time I lose a ton of the egg because it doesn't peel. They are my kryptonite.

5 minutes ago, Mo Horn said:

Don't have an air fryer, but curious. I could sous vide them, but that would take a while I think

Don't boil fresh eggs.  Give them a couple weeks and the air sac gets a little larger and makes them easier to peel.  You can also cut them in half and use a spoon to take off the shell, in one piece.

• Like 1

I can't bake.  At all.  Never mind that I have zero patience for the ridiculous level of precision required -- even when I try to stick to a recipe, it comes out bad.  Really bad.  I've only gotten close on some pizza crusts at this point, but even they are a dicey proposition.

• Hook 'Em 2
  • Rage+1 1

1 minute ago, Jerry Callo said:

Don't boil fresh eggs.  Give them a couple weeks and the air sac gets a little larger and makes them easier to peel.  You can also cut them in half and use a spoon to take off the shell, in one piece.

We get ours at Costco and usually have them for several weeks, and hasn't made a difference. I've heard fresh ones are harder, but ours aren't fresh. 

2 hours ago, Js1 said:

When I cut an onion, it looks like someone with Parkinson’s was given a knife. Can’t figure it out to save my god damn life